Calidris canutus

Two natural World Heritage Sites - the Wadden Sea shared by Denmark, Germany and the Netherlands - and the Banc d’Arguin in Mauretania are two critically important sites for millions of migratory birds along the Eastern Atlantic Flyway.

08 Jul 2015

The 39th Session of the World Heritage Committee is meeting in Bonn, a stone’s throw from the headquarters of the Convention on Migratory Species and several of its associated agreements. Jacques Trouvilliez, Executive Secretary of the Agreement on the Conservation of African-Eurasian Migratory Waterbirds (AEWA), and Rüdiger Strempel, Secretary of the Common Wadden Sea Secretariat, examine the importance of those sites inscribed in the list for their natural rather than cultural qualities.

06 Jul 2015

So great are the contrasts between the frozen empty expanses of the far north and Africa’s baking deserts, steamy rain forests and savannahs that any direct connections between the two seem far-fetched - if they indeed exist at all. In fact, migratory birds provide an environmental tie linking the Arctic and Africa and are the reason why the UN Agreement on the Conservation of African-Eurasian Migratory Waterbirds (AEWA) and the Conservation of Arctic Flora and Fauna (CAFF), the biodiversity working group of the Arctic Council, have entered a commitment to cooperate.

05 Dec 2014

Calidris canutus is included on CMS Appendix II under the higher taxon listing of Scolopacidae.  The sub-species Calidris canutus rufa was added to CMS Appendix I at COP8 (Nairobi, 2005) at the suggestion of Argentina.  AEWA recognizes separate populations - Calidris canutus canutus in Northern Siberia/West & Southern Africa and Calidris canutus islandica in NE Canada & Greenland/Western Europe.

Assessment information
CMS InstrumentsCMS, AEWA
IUCN StatusNear threatened
Date of entry in Appendix II1979
Geographic range
Countries Algeria, Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Australia, Bahamas, Barbados, Belarus, Belgium, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Canada, Chile, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Côte d'Ivoire, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Denmark, Denmark, Dominica, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Estonia, European Union, Finland, France, Gambia, Germany, Ghana, Grenada, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Jamaica, Japan, Latvia, Liberia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Mauritania, Mexico, Morocco, Namibia, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Norway, Palau, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Korea, Russian Federation, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Singapore, South Africa, Spain, Suriname, Sweden, Trinidad and Tobago, United Kingdom, United States of America, Uruguay, Venezuela

No pictures for Calidris canutus

Common names
EnglishRed Knot
FrenchBécasseau Maubèche
SpanishCorrelimos gordo
Scientific name Calidris canutus