Gorilla gorilla

The Republic of Angola has joined the Agreement on the Conservation of Gorillas and Their Habitats, also known as the Gorilla Agreement. Angola is the eighth of ten Range States in which gorillas occur to become a Party to the Agreement, joining the Central African Republic, Congo (Brazzaville), the Democratic Republic of the Congo (Kinshasa), Gabon, Nigeria, Rwanda and Uganda. The accession of Angola to the Gorilla Agreement took effect on 1 January 2021.

13 Jan 2021

Gorilla gorilla gorilla and Gorilla gorilla diehli both listed under the Gorilla Agreement

Assessment information
CMS InstrumentsCMS, Gorilla Agreement (2008)
IUCN StatusCritically endangered
Date of entry in Appendix I2005
Geographic range
Countries Angola (Cabinda), Cameroon, Central African Republic, Congo (Brazzaville), Equatorial Guinea, Gabon

No pictures for Gorilla gorilla

Common names
EnglishWestern Gorilla
FrenchGorille de l'Ouest
SpanishGorila occidental
GermanWestlicher Gorilla
Scientific name Gorilla gorilla

Related content