The Standing Committee was established by Resolution 1.1 of the Conference of the Parties (COP). It is responsible for carrying out interim activities on behalf of the COP to

  • ensure that decisions are implemented,
  • monitor the budget,
  • make recommendations for consideration by the next COP,
  • provide advice and guidance to the Secretariat,
  • represent the  COP in negotiations with the Host Government and UNEP with regard to the Secretariat,
  • act as a bureau at the COP,
  • and to undertake any other ad hoc task assigned to it by the COP.

The Standing Committee usually meets immediately before and after the COP. Intersessionally it usually meets once a year. The Committee consists of representatives of every global region, of the Depositary, of the country that hosted the previous COP and where applicable, of the country which plans to host the next meeting of the COP. The two regions with the largest membership (Europe and Africa) have three representatives each, Central & South America & the Caribbean and Asia both have two and Oceania one. There are no Parties from North America.

Terms of Reference for the Regional Representatives, adopted by the 37th Meeting of the Standing Committee

Members of the CMS Standing Committee

Africa Algeria (Vice-Chair) Ms. Fifi Mouhoubi

[email protected]

Seychelles Ms. Frauke Fleischer-Dogley [email protected]
  Kenya* Mr. Patrick Omondi [email protected];
[email protected]
Uganda Mr. George Owoyesigire

[email protected]

  Mali Mr Michel Koloma [email protected]  Zimbabwe Mr. Fulton Upenyu Mangwanya [email protected] 
Asia Uzbekistan Mr. Abdurashid Sadikov

[email protected]
[email protected]

Bangladesh Mr. Gobinda Roy [email protected]
  Saudi Arabia* Mr.  Mohammed Al-Shamlan [email protected] Pakistan Mr. Muhammad Samar Hussain Khan [email protected]
Europe Italy

Lorenzo Serra 

Elisabetta Raganella Pelliccioni

[email protected]

[email protected]


Mr. Charles-Henri de Barsac

[email protected]

  Monaco* Ms Céline Van Klaveren-Impagliazzo [email protected] Switzerland Mr. Reinhard Schnidrig
Ms. Sabine Herzog

[email protected]

[email protected]

  Georgia Ms. Salome Nozadze [email protected] Croatia Ms. Ana Kobaslic [email protected]
South & Central America & Caribbean Panama Mr. José Victoria [email protected]  Costa Rica Ms. Gina Cuza Jones [email protected]
  Uruguay* Ms. Carmen Leizagoyen

[email protected]


Ministra SDR Ana Teresa Lecaros Terry

Ministro Consejero Carlos Jaime Montoya Montero

[email protected]


[email protected]

Oceania New Zealand* Ms. Alexandra Macdonald [email protected] Palau Mr. Percy Rechelluul

[email protected]; [email protected]

North America  vacant      vacant    
Depositary Germany Mr. Juergen Friedrich [email protected] not applicable    
Host of COP13 India (Chair) Mr. Bivash Ranjan [email protected] not applicable    
Host of COP14 vacant     not applicable    

** Chair of the Finance & Budget Sub-Committee    * Members of the Finance & Budget Sub-Committee

CMS Standing Committee Members since 1985 (Table in PDF Format)