

Memorandum of Understanding on the Conservation of Migratory Birds of Prey in Africa and Eurasia

Distribution: General

UNEP/CMS/Raptors/MOS2/14

21 September 2015

Second Meeting of Signatories | Trondheim, Norway, 5-8 October 2015

PROPOSALS FOR AMENDMENTS TO THE RAPTORS MOU AND/OR ITS ANNEXES: MAP OF THE AREA INCLUDED WITHIN THIS MEMORANDUM OF UNDERSTANDING (ANNEX 2)

Prepared by the Coordinating Unit of the Raptors MoU

- 1. The CMS Memorandum of Understanding on the Conservation of Migratory Birds of Prey in Africa and Eurasia (Raptors MoU) came into effect on 1 November 2008. The geographic area encompassed by the Raptors MoU is shown on an annotated map at Annex 2 entitled 'Map of the area included within this Memorandum of Understanding' (UNEP/CMS/Raptors/MOS2/Inf.1). The 130 Range States and territories within the scope of the MoU are also listed in Annex 2.
- 2. At their first meeting (MoS1 held in December 2012), Signatories to the Raptors MoU established a Technical Advisory Group (TAG) and agreed a list of priority tasks for it to address in advance of the Second Meeting of Signatories (MoS2). One task (Activity 1e of the TAG Terms of Reference UNEP/CMS/Raptors/MOS2/Inf.2) was to review the geographic coverage of Annex 2 in the original text of the Raptors MoU (UNEP/CMS/Raptors/MOS2/Inf.1).
- 3. The TAG undertook the review and identified the need for one amendment to Annex 2, as follows: On 14 July 2011, the United Nations (UN) General Assembly admitted the Republic of South Sudan as the 193rd member of the UN. Geographically South Sudan already falls within the area encompassed by the annotated map at Annex 2 in the original text of the MoU. A revised table of Range States and territories within the Afrotropical realm, amended to include South Sudan, is presented in the Annex of this document.

Action requested:

The Meeting is requested to adopt the amendment proposed by the TAG to the table of Range States and territories of the Afrotropical realm which forms a part of Annex 2 of the Raptors MoU.



Annex

Proposed amended table of Range States and territories within the Afrotropical realm in Annex 2 of the Raptors MoU

Afrotropical realm		
Angola	Gabon	Rwanda
Benin	Gambia	Sâo Tomé and Principe
Botswana	Ghana	Senegal
Burkina Faso	Guinea	Seychelles
Burundi	Guinea-Bissau	Sierra Leone
Cameroon	Kenya	Somalia
Cape Verde	Lesotho	South Africa
Central African Republic	Liberia	South Sudan
Chad	Madagascar	Sudan
Comoros	Malawi	Swaziland
Congo	Mali	Togo
Congo, Democratic Republic of	Mauritius	Uganda
Côte d'Ivoire	Mozambique	United Republic of
Djibouti	Namibia	Tanzania
Equatorial Guinea	Niger	Zambia
Eritrea	Nigeria	Zimbabwe
Ethiopia		