



UNEP/CMS/COP13/Doc.15.2/Rev.1

6 December 2019
Original: English

13th MEETING OF THE CONFERENCE OF THE PARTIES Gandhinagar, India, 17 - 22 February 2020 Agenda Item 15

APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS OF THE SESSIONAL COMMITTEE OF THE SCIENTIFIC COUNCIL

(Prepared by the Secretariat)

Summary:

This document provides information for Parties regarding the appointment of members of the Sessional Committee of the Scientific Council.

This revised version clarifies the terms of reappointment to the Sessional Committee of an alternate who replaced a member in the course of the current triennium.

APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS OF THE SESSIONAL COMMITTEE OF THE SCIENTIFIC COUNCIL

Background

 The Secretariat has prepared this note to assist Parties in their deliberations to appoint members to the Sessional Committee of the Scientific Council to serve during the period from the close of the 13th Meeting to the close of the 14th Meeting of the Conference of the Parties (COP).

Composition of the Sessional Committee

- 2. In accordance with Resolution 12.4, the Sessional Committee of the Scientific Council is a representative selection of the membership of the Scientific Council appointed for each intersessional period between two consecutive ordinary meetings of the COP.
- 3. Unless otherwise decided by the COP, the Sessional Committee is composed of:
 - (a) nine COP-appointed Councillors with expertise in taxonomic and thematic issues; and
 - (b) fifteen Party-appointed Councillors selected from within the Standing Committee's geographic regions, three from each of the regions: Africa, Asia, Europe, Oceania and South and Central America and the Caribbean.

Terms of office

- 4. COP-appointed Councillors are appointed by each meeting of the COP for the subsequent triennium. Their appointment can be renewed. However, re-appointment is not automatic and has to be confirmed by each meeting of the COP.
- 5. Party-appointed Councillors are appointed by individual Parties. Each Party is entitled to appoint one member of the Scientific Council (Art. VIII para.2 of the Convention). Party-appointed Councillors do not have a time limit for their appointment; they remain members until they themselves step down or they are replaced by the Party that appointed them.
- 6. In accordance with Resolution 12.4, Sessional Committee members should normally be appointed for a minimum term of two triennia. Each ordinary meeting of the COP should decide upon the renewal of half¹ of the Party-appointed membership of the Sessional Committee.
- 7. Resolution 12.4 also recommends that the COP identify from the pool of Party-appointed Councillors up to three alternate members for each region, who could replace permanently or temporarily a regular member from the region not in a position to continue to serve on the Sessional Committee in the intersessional period;

¹ Due to the uneven number of the Party-appointed members of the Sessional Committee, this may be 7 or 8 members

COP-appointed Councillors

8. The Scientific Council is preparing a separate document regarding the appointment of COP-appointed Councillors to the Sessional Committee, UNEP/CMS/COP13/Doc.15.1.

Party-appointed Councillors

9. The table below indicates the Party-appointed Councillors currently serving as members of the Sessional Committee, and the triennium for which they were first appointed.

Current Members of the Sessional Committee of the Scientific Council					
Region	Scientific Councillor	Appointed	Triennium of first	No. of	
		by	appointment to	terms	
			Sessional	of	
			Committee	service	
Africa	Mr. Djibril Djouck	Senegal	COP12-COP13	1	
	Mr. Samuel M. Kasiki	Kenya	COP11-COP12	2	
	Ms. Nopasika Malta Qwathekana	South Africa	COP11-COP12	2	
Asia	Mr. Hany Tatwany	Saudi Arabia	COP12-COP13	1	
	Mr. Daniel Fernando	Sri Lanka	COP12-COP13	1	
	Vacant ²			0	
South &	Mr.Carlos Mario Orrego	Costa Rica	COP12-COP13	1	
Central	Vásquez				
America &	Ms. Patricia Pereira Serafini	Brazil	COP12-COP13	1	
the	Mr. Héctor Samuel Vera	Paraguay	COP12-COP13	1	
Caribbean	Alcaraz				
Europe	Mr. Jean-Philippe Siblet	France	COP11-COP12	2	
	Mr. Fernando Spina	Italy	COP11-COP12	2	
	Ms. Daliborka Stankovic ³	Serbia	COP12-COP13	0	
Oceania	Mr. Vincent Hilomen	Philippines	COP11-COP12	2	
	Ms. Narelle Montgomery	Australia	COP12-COP13	1	
	Mr. Graeme Taylor	New Zealand	COP11-COP12	2	

- 10. From the above table, it appears that six of the current members of the Sessional Committee will have completed two terms by the time of COP13 (two from Africa, two from Europe and two from Oceania), and the rest will have completed one term. A total of six or seven members should be considered for renewal. One position is currently vacant and should be filled.
- 11. As decided by the Standing Committee at its 44th meeting, candidate Party-appointed members should be identified by the regions through a consultation process among the Parties in the regions, coordinated by the relevant members of the Standing Committee. Regions are expected to submit to the COP definite recommendations on the candidates to be appointed.

² The third member for the Asia region, Mr. Lkhagvasuren Badamjav, passed away in August 2019. He could not be replaced in the absence of alternate members for the region.

³ Ms. Stankovic was appointed by COP12 as alternate for Europe. She became member of the Sessional Committee in September 2019 to replace Mr. Poluda who had stepped down. Pursuant to Rule 2 (g) of the Rules of Procedure of the Scientific Council and its Sessional Committee, she will be eligible to serve for two triennia in the new capacity as member in addition to any term she has already served as an alternate.

12. The COP is also expected to appoint, from the pool of Party-appointed Councillors, up to three alternate members for each region. There is no time limit for service in this role. The current list of alternates is as follows:

Current Alternate Members of the Sessional Committee of the Scientific Council			
Region	Scientific Councillor	Appointed by	
Europe	Dr. James M. Williams	United Kingdom	
Oceania	Ms. Saras Sharma	Fiji	

- 13. In the identification of candidate Party-appointed members, Parties should keep in mind, in addition to the term of office of current members, the provisions of Resolution 12.2 para 9, that stipulates that representatives from countries with contributions in arrears of three years or more should be excluded from holding office in Convention bodies.
- 14. Candidates to be Party-appointed members from Parties not eligible for funding to attend the Convention's meetings should be assumed to have the means to participate in the meetings of the Sessional Committee, either through their own institution or the government of the Party that appointed them.

Recommended actions

- 15. The Conference of the Parties is recommended to:
 - a) consult within regional groups and determine which Party-appointed members will be nominated for appointment as regional or alternate members of the Sessional Committee of the Scientific Council:
 - b) appoint the regional and alternate members of the Sessional Committee of the Scientific Council for the intersessional period between COP13 and COP14, in accordance with Resolution 12.4.