National Reports

Document Number Title Publish date CMS Instrument
UNEP/CMS/COP13/NR.003 Algérie - Rapport National COP13 28.08.2019 CMS
UNEP/CMS/COP12/Inf.25.62 Algérie - Rapport National COP12 11.05.2017 CMS
UNEP/CMS/Inf.10.12.23 National Report of Algeria (COP10) 29.03.2011 CMS

Ratification status

CMS InstrumentStatusStatus dateNotes
Slender-billed Curlew
Range State
Range State
Range State
Range State
Sahelo-Saharan Megafauna
Range State
African Carnivores Initiative
Range State


Official namePeople's Democratic Republic of Algeria
Party number094
Entry into forceDecember 2005


Facts and Information about the Coronavirus Disease (COVID-19) and Wildlife.  Learn more

Related content

National Legislation

Title Publish date
Law No. 15-08 of 12 Joumada Ethania 1436 corresponding to 2 April 2015 amending and supplementing Law No. 01-11 of 11 Rabie Ethani 1422 corresponding to 03 July 2001 relating to fishing and aquaculture 02.04.2015
Law No. 14-07 of 13 Chaoual 1435 corresponding to 9 August 2014 relating to biological resources 09.08.2014
Executive Decree No. 12-235 of 3 Rajab 1433 corresponding to 24 May 2012 establishing the list of protected non-domestic animal species 24.05.2012
Executive Decree No. 11-197 of 19 Joumada Ethania 1432 corresponding to 22 May 2011 laying down provisions relating to the keeping, offering for sale, sale or purchase, peddling or export of game animals, born and raised in captivity 22.05.2011
Executive Decree No. 10-276 of 27 Dhou El Kaada 1431 corresponding to 4 November 2010 on the classification of animal species and hunting heritage and the procedures for changing classification 04.11.2010
Executive Decree No. 10-70 of 15 Safar 1431 corresponding to 31 January 2010 on the use of live birds of prey for hunting in flight 31.01.2010
Executive decree No. 09-362 of 23 Dhou El Kaada 1430 corresponding to 11 November 2009 fixing the modalities of organisation and functioning of the local network of sanitary surveillance of wildlife and determining its missions 11.11.2009
Executive decree No. 08-413 of 26 Dhou El Hidja corresponding to 24 December 2008 determining the specialised centres for the naturalisation of protected animal species found dead 24.12.2008
Executive Decree No. 08-412 of 26 Dhou El Hidja 1429 corresponding to 24 December 2008 establishing protection measures for the safeguard of protected animal species and their habitats 24.12.2008
Executive decree No. 08-414 of 26 Dhou El Hidja 1429 corresponding to 24 December 2008 fixing the modalities of capture of specimens of animals classified as endangered species 24.12.2008
Executive decree No. 08-123 of 9 Rabie Ethani 1429 corresponding to 15 April 2008 determining the modalities of elaboration and adoption of the national plan of development of the hunting heritage 15.04.2008
Executive Decree No. 07-317 of 4 Chaoual 1428 corresponding to 16 October 2007 establishing the powers, composition and mode of operation of the national commission for the protection of endangered animal species 16.10.2007
Executive decree No. 07-227 of 9 Rajab 1428 corresponding to 24 July 2007 fixing the procedures and modalities for the exercise of tourist hunting 14.07.2007
Décret exécutif n° 06-442 du 11 Dhou El Kaada 1427 correspondant au 2 décembre 2006 fixant les conditions d'exercice de la chasse 02.12.2006
Law No. 06-14 of 22 Chaoual 1427 corresponding to 14 November 2006 approving Ordinance No. 06-05 of 19 Joumada Ethania 1427 corresponding to 15 July 2006 on the protection and preservation of certain endangered animal species 14.11.2006
Executive decree No. 06-398 of 20 Chaoual 1427 corresponding to 12 November 2006 laying down the rules for the lease of hunting territories on the public and private domain of the State as well as the terms and conditions for the lease of hunting lands 12.11.2006
Executive decree No. 06-400 of 20 Chaoual 1427 corresponding to November 12, 2006 fixing the composition, the organisation and the functioning of the superior council of hunting and hunting heritage 12.11.2006
Executive decree No. 06-399 of 20 Chaoual 1427 corresponding to 12 November 2006 relating to the registers of activities of hunters' associations, wilaya hunters' federations and the national federation of hunters 12.11.2006
Executive decree No. 06-386 of 8 Chaoual 1427 corresponding to 31 October 2006 fixing the conditions and modalities for obtaining and issuing a hunting permit 31.10.2006
Executive decree No. 06-387 of 8 Chaoual 1427 corresponding to 31 October 2006 fixing the modalities of establishment and delivery of the hunting licence 31.10.2006
Executive Decree No. 06-364 of 26 Ramadhan 1427 corresponding to 19 October 2006 determining the duration of the suspension of hunting and the species and territories concerned 19.10.2006
Ordinance No. 06-05 of 19 Joumada Ethania 1427 corresponding to 15 July 2006 on the protection and preservation of certain endangered animal species 15.07.2006
Executive decree No. 06-248 of 13 Joumada Ethania 1427 corresponding to 9 July 2006 fixing the modalities of organization of the administrative hunting 09.07.2006
Law No. 04-07 of 27 Joumada Ethania 1425 corresponding to 14 August 2004 on hunting 14.08.2004
Executive decree No. 04-188 of 19 Joumada El Oula 1425 corresponding to 7 July 2004 fixing the modalities of capture, transport, marketing and introduction into aquatic environments of spawners, larvae, alevins and spat ... 07.07.2004

Action Plans

Title Country CMS Instrument Publish date
African-Eurasian Migratory Landbirds Action Plan (AEMLAP): Improving the Conservation Status of Migratory Landbird Species in the African-Eurasian Region Afghanistan, Åland Islands (Finland), Albania, Algeria, Andorra, Angola, Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Belarus, Belgium, Benin, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cabo Verde, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo (Brazzaville), Côte d'Ivoire, Croatia, Czech Republic, Democratic Republic of the Congo (Kinshasa), Denmark, Djibouti, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Estonia, Eswatini, Ethiopia, Faroe Islands (Denmark), Finland, France, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Greenland (Denmark), Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Hungary, Iceland, India, Iran, Iraq, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malawi, Mali, Malta, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mayotte (France), Monaco, Montenegro, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Nepal, Netherlands, Niger, Nigeria, North Macedonia, Norway, Oman, Pakistan, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Republic of Moldova, Réunion (France), Romania, Russian Federation, Rwanda, San Marino, São Tomé and Príncipe, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Serbia, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Slovakia, Slovenia, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Svalbard and Jan Mayen (Norway), Sweden, Switzerland, Syrian Arab Republic, Tajikistan, Togo, Tunisia, Türkiye, Turkmenistan, Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United Republic of Tanzania, Uzbekistan, Vatican City State, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe CMS 17.06.2020