





Agreement on the Conservation of Gorillas and their Habitats of the Convention on Migratory Species

Distribution: General

UNEP/GA/MOP4/Doc.4

12 October 2023

Original: English

FOURTH MEETING OF THE PARTIES Paris, France, 11-15 December 2023 Agenda Item 29

REPORT OF THE DEPOSITARY

(Prepared by the CMS Secretariat)

- 1. The Secretariat of the Convention on the Conservation of Migratory Species of Wild Animals (CMS) serves as the Depositary of the Agreement on the Conservation of Gorillas and Their Habitats (the Gorilla Agreement) pursuant to Article XVII of the Agreement.
- 2. The CMS Secretariat has the honour to submit the present report to the Fourth Meeting of the Parties of the Gorilla Agreement.
- 3. Since the Third Meeting of the Parties held in June 2019 in Entebbe, Uganda, Angola deposited its instrument of accession to the Agreement pursuant to Article XIII on 29 October 2020 and as per 2(c) of Article XIV has acceded to the Gorilla Agreement and became the eighth Party on 1 January 2021. The CMS Secretariat notified the Parties of the accession on 18 November 2020 via note verbale.
- 4. As of 12 October 2023, Angola, the Central African Republic, Congo, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Gabon, Nigeria, Rwanda and Uganda are Parties to the Agreement. Two Range States remain that are not Parties to the Agreement: Cameroon and Equatorial Guinea (Table 1).

Table 1: Status of ratification and accession of the Gorilla Agreement (as at 12 October 2023)

Range State	Date of Entry into Force
Angola	1 January 2021
Cameroon	-
Central African Republic	1 June 2008
Congo	1 June 2008
Democratic Republic of the Congo	1 June 2008
Equatorial Guinea	-
Gabon	1 October 2008
Nigeria	1 June 2008
Rwanda	1 June 2008
Uganda	1 October 2014