01 January 2007 to 31 December 2008

The UN Convention on the Conservation of Migratory Species of Wild Animals (CMS), its specialized agreements on whales, dolphins and porpoises (cetaceans), the Agree­ment on the Conservation of Cetaceans of the Black Sea, Mediterranean Sea and Contiguous Atlantic Area (ACCOBAMS) and the Agreement on the Conservation of Small Ceta­ceans of the Baltic and North Seas (ASCOBANS) together with the Whale and Dolphin Conservation Society (WDCS) de­clared 2007 the Year of the Dolphin.