In order to facilitate implementation, the vast and diverse area covered by the MOU has been divided into four sub-regions:

Western Indian Ocean (WIO): Comoros, France, Kenya, Madagascar, Mauritius, Mozambique, Seychelles, Somalia, South Africa, United ‎Kingdom, United Republic of Tanzania‎

North-Western Indian Ocean (NWIO): Bahrain, Djibouti, Egypt, Eritrea, Islamic Republic of Iran, Jordan, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Sudan, ‎United Arab Emirates, Yemen‎

Northern Indian Ocean (NIO): Bangladesh, India, Maldives, Pakistan, Sri Lanka

South-East Asia + (SEA+)Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Malaysia, Myanmar, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Singapore, ‎Thailand, Timor-Leste, Viet Nam + Australia, ChinaJapanRepublic of Korea, United States‎

Sub-regional Focal Points have been appointed for each of the sub-regions. Please go to the page Organizational Structure to see the list of Sub-regional Focal Points and their Terms of Reference.


Non-Signatory States in the IOSEA Region are shown in Italics.