Gorilla gorilla gorilla

The Republic of Angola has joined the Agreement on the Conservation of Gorillas and Their Habitats, also known as the Gorilla Agreement. Angola is the eighth of ten Range States in which gorillas occur to become a Party to the Agreement, joining the Central African Republic, Congo (Brazzaville), the Democratic Republic of the Congo (Kinshasa), Gabon, Nigeria, Rwanda and Uganda. The accession of Angola to the Gorilla Agreement took effect on 1 January 2021.

13 Jan 2021

Bonn, 27 April 2016 - A photo exhibition featuring great apes will open today at the Zoological Museum Alexander Koenig in Bonn.

27 Apr 2016
Assessment information
CMS InstrumentsGorilla Agreement
IUCN StatusCritically endangered
Geographic range
Countries Angola, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Congo (Brazzaville), Equatorial Guinea, Gabon

No pictures for Gorilla gorilla gorilla

Common names
EnglishWestern Lowland Gorilla
FrenchGorille des plaines del’ouest
SpanishGorila occidental de planicie
GermanWestlicher Flachlandgorilla
Formerly listed asGorilla gorilla
Scientific name Gorilla gorilla gorilla
Other details
Additional notesBoth sub-species of Gorilla gorilla (Gorilla gorilla gorilla and Gorilla gorilla diehli) are listed on Appendix I of CMS

Related content