Gorilla beringei beringei

The Republic of Angola has joined the Agreement on the Conservation of Gorillas and Their Habitats, also known as the Gorilla Agreement. Angola is the eighth of ten Range States in which gorillas occur to become a Party to the Agreement, joining the Central African Republic, Congo (Brazzaville), the Democratic Republic of the Congo (Kinshasa), Gabon, Nigeria, Rwanda and Uganda. The accession of Angola to the Gorilla Agreement took effect on 1 January 2021.

13 Jan 2021
Assessment information
CMS InstrumentsGorilla Agreement
IUCN StatusEndangered
Geographic range
Countries Democratic Republic of the Congo (Kinshasa), Rwanda, Uganda

No pictures for Gorilla beringei beringei

Common names
EnglishMountain Gorilla
FrenchGorille des montagnes
SpanishGorila de montaña
Formerly listed asGorilla gorilla beringei
Scientific name Gorilla beringei beringei
Other details
Additional notesBoth subspecies of Gorilla beringei (Gorilla beringei beringei and Gorilla beringei graueri) are listed on CMS Appendix I as is the species Gorilla gorilla

Related content