2014/023: Gorilla Agreement: New Party, New Action Plan and Postponement of Third Meeting of Parties

Accession of Uganda

The Secretariat is pleased to announce that Uganda has deposited the instrument of accession and shall become the seventh Party to the Gorilla Agreement on 1 October 2014. Three non-Parties remain: Angola, Cameroon and Equatorial Guinea.

Action Plan for the Conservation of the Cross River Gorilla

A Revised Regional Action Plan for the Conservation of the Cross River Gorilla (Gorilla gorilla diehli) 2014-2019 has been developed by a large group of stakeholders, led by the IUCN/SSC Primate Specialist Group and the Wildlife Conservation Society, and was made possible from financial assistance from Norway to the Gorilla Agreement. The revised Action Plan will be considered for adoption at the Third Meeting of Parties to the Gorilla Agreement (MOP3) and can in the interim be accessed on the CMS website.

Third Meeting of Parties (MOP3)

The 41st Meeting of the CMS Standing Committee (27-28 November 2013) has made a recommendation discouraging the practice of holding meetings of species agreements, such as the Gorilla Agreement, back-to-back with meetings of the Conference of the Parties. This together with a lack of funds to finance a Third Meeting of Parties has made it necessary to postpone MOP3 until further notice. The Secretariat would like to encourage Parties to pay their annual contributions to the Gorilla Agreement and clear any arrears as soon as possible. Offers for financial support of MOP3 from Parties to the Gorilla Agreement and other donors are kindly requested.

Last updated on 17 July 2014