Conseil scientifique

La création d’un Conseil scientifique chargé de fournir des avis sur les questions scientifiques aux autres organes de la CMS et aux Parties à la CMS est prévue à l’article VIII de la Convention. Le Conseil scientifique a été créé lors de la 1ère réunion de la Conférence des Parties (Bonn, 1985) par le biais de la Résolution 1.4. Le Conseil fait notamment des recommandations à la Conférence des Parties sur des questions telles que la recherche sur les espèces migratrices, les mesures de conservation et de gestion spécifiques, l’inscription d’espèces migratrices aux annexes de la Convention, ainsi que la désignation d’espèces devant bénéficier d’actions concertées au titre de la Convention. Il donne également des avis sur l’éligibilité des projets aux financements dans le cadre du Programme de petites subventions de la CMS

Le processus de la Forme future entrepris au cours du triennat 2009-2011 a identifié la restructuration du Conseil scientifique comme l’une des seize activités ciblées pour la CMS, comme souligné dans la Résolution 10.9 sur la structure et les stratégies futures de la CMS et de la Famille de la CMS, et la Résolution 10.1 sur les questions financières et administratives.

Lors de la 11ème réunion de la Conférence des Parties (Quito, 2014), par le biais de la Résolution 11.4 sur la restructuration du Conseil scientifique, plusieurs changements institutionnels et organisationnels ont été convenus pour le Conseil. Il a notamment été décidé que, tout en réaffirmant que le Conseil scientifique continuerait à être composé de membres nommés par chaque Partie et de membres nommés par la Conférence des Parties, pour chaque période intersession entre deux réunions consécutives de la Conférence des Parties, une sélection représentative des membres du Conseil scientifique, qui s’appellerait Comité de session du Conseil scientifique, serait identifiée et constituée de :
(a) neuf conseillers nommés par la COP possédant une expertise dans les sujets taxonomiques et thématiques ; et
(b) quinze conseillers nommés par les Parties sélectionnés à partir des régions géographiques du Comité permanent, comme suit : trois d’Afrique ; trois d’Asie ; trois d’Europe ; trois d’Océanie ; trois d’Amérique du Sud et Centrale et des Caraïbes.

Les membres du Comité de session devront être nommés par la Conférence des Parties lors de chacune de ses réunions ordinaires. En tant que mesure de transition visant à mettre en œuvre ce changement d’organisation lors de la période intersession entre la COP11 et la COP12, la COP11 a demandé au Comité permanent de sélectionner et nommer les membres du Comité de session du Conseil scientifique pour la période triennale 2015-2017 lors de sa 44ème réunion (Bonn, octobre 2015). La liste complète des membres du Conseil scientifique et des membres du Comité de session est disponible ici.

Le Comité de session est principalement responsable de la mise en œuvre du mandat attribué au Conseil scientifique par la Conférence des Parties pour la période intersession. Tous les résultats du Comité de session sont considérés comme des résultats du Conseil scientifique.
.

Les rapports et autres documents relatifs à toutes les réunions sont disponibles ci-dessous.

 

Title Start datesort ascending Status Country CMS Instrument
Second Meeting of the Sessional Committee of the CMS Scientific Council (ScC-SC2) 10.07.2017 Confirmed Germany CMS
Première Réunion du Comité de Session du Conseil scientifique (ScC-SC1) 18.04.2016 Concluded Germany CMS
18th Scientific Council Meeting 01.07.2014 Concluded Germany CMS
Scientific Council Strategic & Planning Meeting 08.10.2013 Concluded Italy CMS
17th Scientific Council Meeting 17.11.2011 Concluded Norway CMS
16th Scientific Council Meeting 28.06.2010 Concluded Germany CMS
CMS Scientific Council Activity Planning Meeting 13.06.2009 Concluded Germany CMS
15th Scientific Council Meeting 27.11.2008 Concluded Italy CMS
14th Scientific Council Meeting 14.03.2007 Concluded Germany CMS
13th Scientific Council Meeting 16.11.2005 Concluded Kenya CMS
12th Scientific Council Meeting 31.03.2004 Concluded United Kingdom CMS
11th Scientific Council Meeting 14.09.2002 Concluded Germany CMS
10th Scientific Council Meeting 02.05.2001 Concluded United Kingdom CMS
9th Scientific Council Meeting 04.11.1999 Concluded South Africa CMS
8th Scientific Council Meeting 03.06.1998 Concluded Netherlands CMS
7th Scientific Council Meeting 10.04.1997 Concluded Switzerland CMS
6th Scientific Council Meeting 01.11.1995 Concluded Germany CMS
5th Scientific Council Meeting 04.06.1994 Concluded Kenya CMS
4th Scientific Council Meeting 17.05.1993 Concluded Germany CMS
3rd Scientific Council Meeting 09.09.1991 Concluded Switzerland CMS
2nd Scientific Council Meeting 14.03.1991 Concluded Germany CMS
1st Scientific Council Meeting 11.10.1988 Concluded Switzerland CMS

Scientific Council

The establishment of a Scientific Council to provide advice on scientific matters to other CMS bodies and CMS Parties is foreseen in Article VIII of the Convention. The Scientific Council was established by the1st meeting of the Conference of the Parties (Bonn, 1985) through Resolution 1.4.  The Council notably makes recommendations to the Conference of the Parties on such issues as research on migratory species, specific conservation and management measures, the inclusion of migratory species in the Appendices and designation of species for Concerted or Cooperative Actions under the Convention. It also gives advice on projects' eligibility for funding under the Small Grants Programme of CMS.

Each Party is entitled to appoint a qualified expert as a member of the Scientific Council (Party-appointed Councillors). Parties may also nominate an alternate Scientific Councillor, entitled to participate in meetings of the Council when the regular Councillor cannot attend. In addition to the members appointed by the individual Parties, the Conference of the Parties can appoint to the Council other experts to cover fields of particular interest to the Convention (COP-appointed Councillors).

The Future Shape process undertaken during the triennium 2009-2011 identified the restructuring of the Scientific Council as one of the sixteen target activities for CMS, as outlined in Resolution 10.9 on Future Structure and Strategies for CMS and the CMS Family, and Resolution 10.1 on Financial and Administrative Matters.

The 11th meeting of the Conference of the Parties (Quito, 2014), through Resolution 11.4 on the restructuring of the Scientific Council, agreed on a number of institutional and organizational changes for the Council.  In particular, while reaffirming that the Scientific Council will continue to be composed of members appointed by individual Parties and members appointed by the Conference of the Parties, decided that, for each intersessional period between two consecutive meetings of the Conference of the Parties, a representative selection of the membership of the Scientific Council, to be named the Sessional Committee of the Scientific Council, should be identified, composed of:

(a)    nine COP-appointed Councillors with expertise in taxonomic and thematic issues; and

(b)   fifteen Party-appointed Councillors selected from within the Standing Committee’s geographic regions, as follows: three from Africa; three from Asia; three from Europe; three from Oceania; three from South and Central America and the Caribbean.

The members of the Sessional Committee are to be appointed by the Conference of the Parties at each of its ordinary meetings. As a transitional measure aimed at implementing this organizational change in the intersessional period between COP11 and COP12, COP11 requested the Standing Committee to select and appoint the members of the Sessional Committee of the Scientific Council for the triennium 2015-2017 at its 44th meeting (Bonn, October 2015). The full list of members of the Scientific Council and of members of the Sessional Committee can be found here

The Sessional Committee is primarily responsible for the implementation of the mandate assigned to the Scientific Council by the Conference of the Parties for the intersessional period. All outputs of the Sessional Committee are considered outputs of the Scientific Council.

Reports and other documentation of all meetings are available below.

 

Title Start datesort ascending Status Country CMS Instrument
First Meeting of the Sessional Committee of the Scientific Council (ScC-SC1) 18.04.2016 Concluded Germany CMS
18th Scientific Council Meeting 01.07.2014 Concluded Germany CMS
Scientific Council Strategic & Planning Meeting 08.10.2013 Concluded Italy CMS
17th Scientific Council Meeting 17.11.2011 Concluded Norway CMS
16th Scientific Council Meeting 28.06.2010 Concluded Germany CMS
CMS Scientific Council Activity Planning Meeting 13.06.2009 Concluded Germany CMS
15th Scientific Council Meeting 27.11.2008 Concluded Italy CMS
14th Scientific Council Meeting 14.03.2007 Concluded Germany CMS
13th Scientific Council Meeting 16.11.2005 Concluded Kenya CMS
12th Scientific Council Meeting 31.03.2004 Concluded United Kingdom CMS
11th Scientific Council Meeting 14.09.2002 Concluded Germany CMS
10th Scientific Council Meeting 02.05.2001 Concluded United Kingdom CMS
9th Scientific Council Meeting 04.11.1999 Concluded South Africa CMS
8th Scientific Council Meeting 03.06.1998 Concluded Netherlands CMS
7th Scientific Council Meeting 10.04.1997 Concluded Switzerland CMS
6th Scientific Council Meeting 01.11.1995 Concluded Germany CMS
5th Scientific Council Meeting 04.06.1994 Concluded Kenya CMS
4th Scientific Council Meeting 17.05.1993 Concluded Germany CMS
3rd Scientific Council Meeting 09.09.1991 Concluded Switzerland CMS
2nd Scientific Council Meeting 14.03.1991 Concluded Germany CMS
1st Scientific Council Meeting 11.10.1988 Concluded Switzerland CMS