The Intergovernmental Task Force on Illegal Killing, Taking and Trade of Migratory Birds in the Mediterranean (MIKT) has been convened by the CMS Secretariat in conjunction with the Secretariat of AEWA, the Raptors MOU Coordinating Unit and the African-Eurasian Migratory Landbirds Action Plan (AEMLAP) Working Group. It brings together governmental representatives of CMS Parties around the Mediterranean, including the European Union and other interested parties. Representatives from non-CMS Parties as well as relevant international organizations and networks are also part of MIKT as observers.

The Task Force has been established under CMS COP Resolution 11.16 on the illegal killing, taking and trade of migratory birds to facilitate international cooperation as well as the implementation of the existing guidelines and action plans in particular the Tunis Action Plan 2013-2020 for the Eradication of Illegal Killing, Trapping and Trade of Wild Birds. It will also consider whether any new guidelines, action plans or other recommendations to respond to specific problems are necessary. Moreover, it will enable the exchange of information, training and education, law enforcement, deterrence and prevention to reduce the mortality rate among migratory birds.

The first Meeting of this Intergovernmental Task Force was held from 12 to 15 July 2016 in Cairo, Egypt. During these days, Governments and observers agreed on the need for stricter penalties, increased surveillance and improved law enforcement, committing to a zero tolerance approach to curb the massive slaughter of migratory birds in the Mediterranean. As a result, the Cairo Declaration on Illegal Killing, Taking and Trade of Migratory Birds in the Mediterranean Region as well as a detailed Programme of Work (PoW) until 2020 were adopted. A scoreboard will be prepared to measure the progress of the PoW.

While the specific measures needed to tackle bird crime will vary for each country, the Task Force has agreed to strengthen three key areas focusing on immediate measures from a legal perspective, continuous monitoring and conservation actions as well as increased awareness campaigns and educational schemes. MIKT will work as a catalyst to gather the information scattered amongst diverse international organizations, and will help experts coordinate their work, offering amongst other things a remote online workspace.

The Mediterranean basin is currently a hotspot for illegal killing and trapping and MIKT is the first Pan Mediterranean Task Force to be developed, having a distinctly regional focus and aiming to be replicated for other parts of the world.


The European Commission were recognized as Champion Plus for their generous support and commitment towards addressing Illegal Killing, Taking and Trade of Migratory Birds in the Mediterranean for the period 2015-2018. This activity has been funded with the contribution granted by the European Commission under the Migratory Species Champion Programme and through the Global Public Goods and Challenges (GPGC Programme) Cooperation Agreements with UNEP.


 

MEMBERS OF THE MEDITERRANEAN INTERGOVERNMENTAL TASK FORCE ON ILLEGAL KILLING, TAKING AND TRADE OF MIGRATORY BIRDS

1.       Albania

Mr  Ermal Halimi

Biodiversity Directorate and Protected Areas, Ministry of Environment

ermal.halimi@moe.gov.al

2.       Algeria

Mr. Mohamed Hadjeloum

 

Chef de bureau de la Gestion et de la Protection de la Faune Sauvage

Direction Generale des Forets

hadjeloum@yahoo.fr

3.      Croatia

Ms. Maja Polic

Nature Protection Inspector, Directorate for Inspection, Ministry of Environment and Nature Protection

maja.polic@mzoip.hr

4.       Cyprus

Mr. Pantelis Hadjijerou

Head of Game and Fauna Department, Ministry of the Interior

wildlife.thira@cytanet.com.cy

5.       Egypt

Mr. Luay El Sayed

Coordinator of Wildlife Programme Nature Conservation Sector Environmental Affairs Agency

Luay09@yahoo.com

6.       European Union

Ms Marita Arvela

European Commission,
Directorate-General for Environment, Nature Unit

marita.arvela@ec.europa.eu

7.       France

 

Mr. François Lamarque

 

Chargé de mission pour les actions européennes et internationales en faveur de la faune et de la flore sauvage, Ministère de l’Environnement, de l’Enérgie et de la Mer

Francois.lamarque@developpement-durable.gouv.fr

8.       Greece

Mr. Nikolas Bokaris

 

 

Ms. Helen Giakoumi

Head of the Department Wildlife Management and Hunting General Directorate of Development and Protection of Forests Ministry Environment and Energy
 
 
 
Head of Department of Forest Protected areas and forest Recreation General Directorate of Development and protection of Forests Ministry Environment and Energy
 

9.       Israel

Mr Simon Nentzov

 

 

Ms Ayelet Rosen

Wildlife Ecologist and Coordinator of International Treaties, Israel Nature and Parks Authority 

simon@npa.org.il

Director, Division of Multilateral Environmental Agreements
Israeli Ministry of Environmental Protection

ayeletr@sviva.gov.il

10.   Italy

Mr. Claudio Marrucci

 

 

Ufficio per la Cooperazione Internazionale

Comando Generale dei Carabinieri

claudio.marrucci@carabinieri.it

11.   Libya

Dr. Abdalbaset Hassan Abushiba Massoud

abushibaa@yahoo.com

12.   Malta

 

Sergei Golovkin (NFP for Bern Convention WG)

 

Head of Wild Birds Regulation Unit, Parliamentary Secretariat for Agriculture, Fisheries and Animal Rights


sergei.a.golovkin@gov.mt

13.   Monaco

Mr Ludovic Aquilina

Chef de Section, Direction de l’Environment

luaquilina@gouv.mc

14.   Montenegro

Ms. Marina Spahic

Head of the Directorate of the Nature Protection Ministry of Sustainable Development and Tourism

Marina.spahic@mrt.gov.me

15.   Morocco

Ms. Hayat Mesbah

Chef de Service de la Conservation
de la Flore et de la Faune Sauvages,
Haut Commissariat aux Eaux et Forêts
et à la Lutte Contre la Désertification

mesbah_ef@yahoo.fr

16.   Slovenia

Mr. Andrej Bibic (CMS Focal Point)

Ministry of Environment and Spatial Planning

Andrej.bibic@gov.si

17.   Spain

Ms. Barbara Soto-Largo

Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Environment (MAGRAMA)

bsotolargo@magrama.es

18.   Syrian Arab Republic

Eng. Ahmad Aidek

Biodiversity, Land and Nature Reserves Directorate, Ministry of State for Environment Affairs

Ah_aidek@hotmail.com

blalhayek75@gmail.com

19.   Tunisia

Mr. Jamel Tahri

Ingénieur principal a la Direction Générale des Forêts au Ministere de l’Agriculture, des Ressources Hydrauliques et de la Peche

Tahri_jamel@yahoo.fr

20.   United Kingdom

Mr.  Simon Mackown

Acting Head of Wildlife Management and Crime - Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs (DEFRA)

simon.mackown@defra.gsi.gov.uk

 

OBSERVERS

Interested Parties [1]

1.       Germany

Mr Oliver Schall

Division of Species Protection, Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation, Building and Nuclear Safety (BMUB)

Oliver.Schall@bmub.bund.de

2.       Portugal

Mr. Joao Loureiro

Head of Unit - Institute of Nature Conservation and Forests

loureiroj@gmail.com

 

3.       Jordan

 

Nomination pending  

Non-Parties

1.       Bosnia-Herzegovina

Ms Nada Mlinar

 

Ms. Vanda Medic

Executive assistant for International Cooperation, Ministry of Foreign Trade and Economic Relations Nada.Mlinar@mvteo.gov.ba

Vanda.medic@mvteo.gov.ba

2.       Lebanon

Mr. Jeff Gerges

Environment Specialist at the Ministry of Environment

saleem.hamadeh@gmail.com

3.       Palestine

Nomination pending

 

4.       Turkey

Mr Fehmi Arikan

Expert - Department of Game Management GD of Nature Conservation and National Parks Ministry of Forestry and Water Affairs

farikan@ormansu.gov.tr

MEA Secretariats & networks

1.       AEWA Secretariat

Mr. Sergey Dereliev

Technical Officer

sergey.dereliev@unep-aewa.org

2.       Bern Convention  Secretariat

Ms. Iva Obretenova

Iva.OBRETENOVA@coe.int

3.       CITES  Secretariat

Mr. Barend Van Rensburg

Chief of Enforcement Support

Ben.JVANRENSBURG@cites.org

4.       CMS  Secretariat

Mr. Borja Heredia

Head Avian Unit, CMS Secretariat

Borja.heredia@cms.int

5.       Task Force Coordinator

Ms. Carmen Naves

Carmen.naves@cms.int

6.       Raptors MOU

Mr. Nick Williams

Head of Coordinating Unit

nick.williams@cms.int

7.       INTERPOL

Ms. Cindy Chimal

Environmental Security

INTERPOL General Secretariat

c.chimal@interpol.int

8.       UNEP

Ms Lobna Ben Nakhla

 

Mr Harald Egerer

UNEP MAP Regional Activity Centre, Tunisia

lobna.bennakhla@rac-spa.org

Head of the Secretariat of the Carpathian Convention, UNEP's Regional Office for Europe

harald.egerer@unvienna.org

9.       UNODC

Ms. Olga Kuzmianok

Programme manager of Global Programme for Combating Wildlife and Forest Crime

olga.kuzmianok@unodc.org

 

10.    UNDP

 

Mr. Yves de Soye

Regional Technical Advisor, Ecosystems & Biodiversity, Global Environmental Finance Unit, Bureau for Policy and Programme Support

yves.desoye@undp.org

11.   EU Forum of Judges for the Environment (EUFJE)

Mr. Jan Van den Bergue

Vice-president Court of First Instance, East-Flanders/ High Council of the Judiciary

jan.v.d.berghe@telenet.be

12.   European Network of Prosecutors for the Environment (ENPE)

Mr. Angus Innes

Senior Lawyer (Team Leader)

Legal Services 

Reading

angus.innes@environment-agency.gov.uk

13.   Europol / EnviCrimeNet

Mr. Igor Jakupic

Seconded National Expert (SNE)

Environmental Crime

Europol O24

igor.jakupic@europol.europa.eu

Advisory Bodies

1.       CMS Standing Committee

Mr. Øystein Størkersen

Chair – CMS Standing Committee oystein.rune.storkersen@miljodir.no

2.       Scientific Council CMS      

Mr. Fernando Spina

Chair Scientific Council

fernando.spina@isprambiente.it

3.       AEWA Technical Committee

Mr. Imad Cherkaoui

imad.cherkaoui@gmail.com

4.       Raptors MOU Technical Advisory Group

Mr. Andre Botha

Chair Technical Advisory Group

andreb@ewt.org.za

5.       Landbirds Working Group

Mr. Olivier Biber

Chair Landbirds Working Group

olivier.biber@nosoiseaux.ch

6.       Flyways Working Group

Mr. Taej Mundkur

Chair Flyways Working Group

Taej.Mundkur@wetlands.org

7.       Tour du Valat

 

Ms. Laura Dami

Project Leader - Waterbirds monitoring in the Mediterranean region

dami@tourduvalat.org

8.       CMS Preventing Poisoning Working Group

 

 

Mr. David de la Bodega

 

 

Coordinator (interim)

ddelabodega@seo.org

 

 

NGOs
1. BirdLife International Ms. Nicola Crockford

International Policy Officer
nicola.crockford@rspb.org.uk

2. CABS (Committee against Bird Slaughter)

Ms. Andrea Rutigliano Enforcement Officer
cabs.italia@komitee.de

3. EURONATUR

Mr. Stefan Ferger

Project Management
stefan.ferger@euronatur.org

4. FACE (European Hunter's Federation)

Mr. David Scallan Director of Conservation (acting)
david.scallan@face.eu

5. IMPEL (European Enforcement Network)

Mr. John Visbeen

Board Member
john.visbeen@provincie-utrecht.nl

6. IUCN

Ms. Catherine Numa Centre for Mediterranean Cooperation, Málaga
Catherine.numa@iucn.org

7. NABU

Mr. Lars Lachmann Birds Officer
Lars.Lachmann@nabu.de

8. TRAFFIC (Wildlife Trade Monitoring Network)

Ms. Vinciane Sacré
EU-TWIX Administrator
9. IAF (International Association for Falconry and Conservation of Birds of Prey) Mr. Gary Timbrell
Executive Officer
     


[1] Terms of Referenceof MIKT states that representatives of Parties elsewhere in the African-Eurasian Flyway and beyond that wish to support the work of the Task Force can also be invited to contribute to the Task Force.

 

 

 

Title Language Date Source
Task Force adopts zero-tolerance approach to curb annual slaughter in the Mediterranean English 19/07/2016 Birdguides.com
Countries to meet in Egypt to end killing of migratory birds English 09/07/2016 Ahramonline
Africa: Task Force Agrees Need for Tougher Penalties, Adopts Zero Tolerance Approach to Curb Annual Slaughter of 25 Million Birds in the Mediterranean English 14/07/2016 Allafrica.com
Task Force Agrees Need for Tougher Penalties, Adopts Zero Tolerance Approach to Curb Annual Slaughter of 25 Million Birds in the Mediterranean English 14/07/2016 UNEP News Center
New UN task force to fight migratory bird hunting English 15/07/2016 Deutsche Welle
Task force Unep: tolleranza zero contro la strage di 25 milioni di uccelli all’anno nel Mediterraneo Italian 18/07/2016 Greenport.it
Wie kann der millionenfache Vogelfang im Mittelmeerraum gestoppt werden? German 09/07/2016 Scharf Links
Wie kann der millionenfache Vogelfang im Mittelmeerraum gestoppt werden? German 13/07/2016 ichtragenatur.de
بالتعاون مع الأمم المتحدة.. "البيئة" تصدر "إعلان القاهرة" لمكافحة صيد الطيور المهاجرة  Arabic 14/07/2016 Treckat.com
البيئة توضح بنود ''إعلان القاهرة'' الخاص بمكافحة صيد الطيور المهاجرة Arabic 15/07/2016 Masrawy
البيئة تختتم فعاليات اجتماع مكافحة الصيد غير المشروع للطيور المهاجرة Arabic 15/07/2016 Youm 7
اليوم.. ختام اجتماع فريق عمل الصيد "غير القانوني" للطيور المهاجرة Arabic 15/07/2016 Al Bawaba
الطيور المهاجرة إلى مصر.. «البيئة»: غير حاملة للأمراض.. تأتي في سبتمبر ونوفمبر.. رصد 30 نوعا مهددا بالانقراض.. تتواجد في جنوب سيناء وعلى سواحل البحر المتوسط.. ومطالب بسن تشريعات لمنع الصيد العشوائي Arabic 15/07/2016 Vetogate
الوطن" تنشر بنود "إعلان القاهرة" لمكافحة صيد الطيور المهاجرة Arabic 14/07/2016 El Watan
ننشر توصيات «مقترح إعلان القاهرة» لمكافحة الصيد غير الشرعي للطيور المهاجرة Arabic 14/07/2016 Al Akhbar
اخبار السياسه بالتعاون مع الأمم المتحدة.. "البيئة" تصدر "إعلان القاهرة" لمكافحة صيد الطيور المهاجرة Arabic 14/07/2016 Mogaz News
إطلاق إعلان القاهرة المتعلق بالصيد غير القانونى وتجارة الطيور المهاجرة فى المتوسط Arabic 15/07/2016 El Watan
حملة لحماية الطيور المهاجرة من شباك الصيادين Arabic 16/07/2016 Al Akhbar
البيئة تختتم فعاليات اجتماع مكافحة الصيد غير المشروع للطيور المهاجرة Arabic 15/07/2016 Loma Zoma
مصر تستضيف اجتماع فريق عمل الصيد غير القانوني للطيور المهاجر Arabic 12/07/2016 Al Bawaba
 مصر تستضيف الاجتماع الأول عن صيد الطيور المهاجرة في منطقة دول حوض المتوسط Arabic 12/07/2016 Masrawy
وزير البيئة: مصر ملتزمة باتفاقية الحفاظ على الطيور المهاجرة Arabic 12/07/2016 Vetogate
وزير البيئة: نلتزم باتفاقية الحفاظ على الأنواع المهاجرة ضد الصيد غير المشروع Arabic 12/07/2016 Innfrad
فهمي”: مصر ملتزمة بإتفاقية الحفاظ على انواع الطيور المهاجرة Arabic 12/07/2016 Al Sahm
فهمي": مصر ملتزمة باتفاقية الحفاظ على الأنواع المهاجرة Arabic 12/07/2016 El Fagr
وزير البيئة: مصر ملتزمة باتفاقية الحفاظ على الأنواع المهاجرة Arabic 12/07/2016 Al Nabaa
وزير البيئة يشدد على أهمية اقتصاديات عمليات الصيد Arabic 12/07/2016 Al Arabya News

Disclaimer: The advertisements displayed before the start of the video are related to the video itself and are not related the UNEP/CMS Secretariat.