CMS Strategic Plan Working Group

Creation of the Working Group

At the 10th meeting of the CMS Conference of the Parties (COP10) in Bergen it was decided in Resolution 10.5 to establish a Working Group to draft the new Migratory Species Strategic Plan for the period 2015-2023.  This work is being conducted inter-sessionally and a final draft strategy will be presented to CMS COP11 in late 2014.


The members were elected by the CMS regions, and the Scientific Council and Standing Committee Chairs are ex-officio members of the Group. The regional members are consulting their region’s Contracting Parties at each step of the process, and the Chairs of the Standing Committee and Scientific Council are responsible for incorporating the feedback of their bodies.

The Group is chaired by Ms Ines Verleye from Belgium, and the full list of members is given below.


The first physical meeting of the Working Group took place in Bonn, in the first week of November 2012, back-to-back with the 40th Meeting of the CMS Standing Committee. For this first meeting, a consultant, Mr Dave Pritchard, compiled views from stakeholders on lessons learned from the implementation of the current Strategic Plan, as well as ideas on the content of the future Plan.

The second meeting of the Working Group took place in Bonn from 25-26 November 2013. The second draft Plan, developed based on the consultation undertaken on the first draft, was discussed at this meeting.

For summaries of the outcomes, and the background documents discussed at each meeting, see below. For more information about the Strategic Plan please click here.

Working Group Members
Name Role
Mr. Alfred Oteng Yeboah Standing Committee
Mr. Fernando Spina Scientific Council
Last updated on 02 October 2015