UNEP/CMS Thesis Award 2005

The first winner of the UNEP/CMS Thesis Award, chosen by the jury in July 2005, was Dr. Zeb Hogan, a scientist from the United States. He was rewarded for his work on ‘The Ecology, Genetics, and Conservation of Migratory Catfish (Pangasiidae) in the Mekong River. Dr. Carlos Rodriguez from Spain and Dr. Rodrigo Hucke-Gaete from Chile were nominated second and third laureates. Dr. Hogan was later appointed by the Conference of the Parties to the CMS Scientific Council as the expert on fish species.

Please see the report of the 2005 award below.

Last updated on 10 March 2014
CMS Instrument: 
Dr. Zeb Hogan
Related species: 
Pangasianodon gigas
Related meetings: 
Eighth Meeting of the Conference of the Parties to CMS